top of page
PXL_20220302_201417277.PORTRAIT.jpg

WELCOME

I'm Tiana Traffas and I'm an artist. I created this blog to share my work with you. Here you'll find studio tours, in progress works, news series, frustrations, and flow state musings.

Post: Welcome
  • Writer's pictureTiana Traffas Art

Studio Re-Fresh

Updated: Oct 24, 2023

We recently reorganized the art studio and got around to some long-awaited projects! I am so happy and I'm feeling really inspired!


I now have different stations within the studio. One for storage, one for small works on paper and 3D sculptural stuff, one for large-scale acrylic painting on canvas, one for my pencil drawings, and a designated spot for framing! Wanna see?!



On the left, you can see my workbench. I work here on smaller watercolor or ink paintings and occasionally I work on 3D projects here too. I display finished work on the wall above. Underneath are storage and tools. The table in the middle of the room is my flat lay area. All finished works on paper are organized into piles here. Under this table are all of my vintage fabric, felt scraps, and yarn. Many of the lights are movable, I can just unclip them and bring them over to whatever station I am currently working at.


Stacks of finished work and prepped pages ready for art making!


I love having this little couch here. Sometimes the kid will sit and draw here. My husband might pop down with his guitar. And I can take a break and do the essential work of staring at a work in progress that's hanging on the wall.



The whiteboard is great for sketching out ideas, keeping track of shows I want to submit to, and my favorite... Drawing on! I can use magnets to hold paper up and I use the board as a surface. Drawing while standing is much better for my back than hunching over a table for hours at a time! It's also great for clipping up art and for viewing a hanging body of work.




On the far side of the studio, we have two more tables. These folding tables get packed up for art markets. On one table I have everything I take with me for market days. On the other, I have it all set up as a framing station. This was a much-needed addition to the studio! Under those tables, I have bins with packing materials to ship out work that sells on my website or for out-of-town gallery shows. Above the tables, I have these boards that I use for markets and pop-ups. I clip my unframed drawings to them. It was a display design I came up with and it has been serving me well!


We also put up a new surface for painting on (it's next to the white board). The studio is in our unfinished basement. (Starving artist here! We make do!) The need for this surface came out of some ideas I had for painting on raw unstreached canvas and the fact that the walls are textured cinder block. This surface is smooth and perfect for clipping up the canvas for painting.



Welcome to the "Fine Arts Wing" 🙃 Much of the items in the studio are found objects, thrifted, or free things I've scrounged up.


Blocked out the kid's info (kids deserve internet sovereignty and anonymity!)

My kid has an art corner in the studio of course! Mural by my baby at 7 years old!! This corner was a disaster before. What did I expect when I invited a kid to run wild with it?! It's so much better now. These shelves are for paint can organization and paperwork.


Velociraptor in a sorting hat.


Finished art and talismans everywhere!



An unfinished work and a studio pal


Top it all off with a 10ft moon on the ceiling!


Thanks for checking out the studio! I am so glad you decided to stop by after the refresh 😏



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
Untitled

WRITE ME A LETTER 💌

Thanks for submitting!

Post: Contact
bottom of page