top of page
PXL_20220302_201417277.PORTRAIT.jpg

WELCOME

I'm Tiana Traffas and I'm an artist. I created this blog to share my work with you. Here you'll find studio tours, in progress works, news series, frustrations, and flow state musings.

Post: Welcome
  • Writer's pictureTiana Traffas Art

A Creative Week

This week was all about prep. Not my favorite. I just want to get to the fun part of doing! I have to gesso and make plans before I can really get into it. But, this weekend was all fun! Road trips, weird art, art tours, and family crafting.



Gesso-ing large canvas sheets and sketching out new ideas for paintings.



Road trips and Buddhist temples in rural Minnesota.






So many bald eagles, cranes, and hawks.



A road trip isn't complete without outsider art! This is Praire Moon, a sculpture environment created in the 50's by a retired farmer in his 70's. We've been stopping by since our kid was a baby.


The artist himself!

We went on the Fresh Art Tour in our favorite little Wisconsin towns: Maiden Rock, Stockholm, and Pepin. I love doing these tours. Talking with the artists, taking home cool art, and a peek into their art studios... What more could you want?!


The first place we stopped was at was called Pepin Farm Potery in Maiden Rock. We saw some beautiful ceramic art. Some functional, some decorative, some served both roles, but all were beautifully crafted. Artists featured here were ceramicists Peter & Mary Deneen, Martha Winter, and the felt art of Bill Sumner.


Gorgeous potery studios and a property overlooking the river!

Artist Steve Lehman, an incredible wood carver
A corner of Tom Latané's workshop


T + C Latané were so cool. Tom has been making ironwork since he was a kid. He saw it demonstrated and just had to do it himself! So he started to experiment in his parent's backyard and never looked back. His shop and workshop is located in Pepin, WI. It's worth a visit to see the incredible things he crafts. Iron boxes, locks and keys, candelabra's... You name it! His wife, Cathrine, makes functional tin work. Lanturns, whistles, and ornaments. We enjoyed talking with both of them and even got to see Tom at work!


Next up! The magical Flaming Fire Art Studio. Such a colorful and fun space. Very creatively inspiring. Every corner inside and out was made one of a kind! Artists John and Kaye Luetke were so welcoming.


The studio floor!
Community mosaic art project!
Community mosaic art project!

To round off our busy weekend we decided to make some friendship bracelets. We've got a few swifties over here at my house. (I can enjoy it in small doses! Folklore is my favorite album of Taylor's.) We couldn't afford Eras tickets but we are excited to go to the Eras Movie! I thought we would have fun making bracelets for each other and to give away to other movie goers. People started doing this at the concerts and I thought the kid would like to join in too. We had way too much fun jamming to Taylor Swift and stringing beads! Luke made several for me and the kid. And the kid and I made a bunch to give away. We all got excited and probably made too many to keep for each other and ourselves!



I wish you many fun and inspiring weekends to come! What's on your creative to do list? Pumpkin carving? Halloween costume making? Me too.



Recent Posts

See All

A Blog Update and Art in 2025

Blog Update I have run out of image storage for this blog. In order to post more images I would have to delete many images of my work from past posts. This will take some time to decide what to keep a

Post: Blog2_Post
Untitled

WRITE ME A LETTER 💌

Thanks for submitting!

Post: Contact
bottom of page